Arkansas Early Childhood Commission October 17, 2017 10:00am Meeting Minutes

<u>Members Present</u>: Deborah Mayes, Ryan Clayborn, Dr. Kathy Pillow-Price, Jody Veit-Edrington, Kim Whitman, Talicia Richardson

Members Absent: Dr. Kathy Collins, Lindsey Jones

I. Call to Order

Talicia Richardson called the AECC Commissioners' Meeting to order on October 17, 2017 at 10:16 a.m. Talicia Richardson read the AECC's mission statement.

II. Approval of Minutes from July 2017

Talicia Richardson asked for a motion to approve the minutes from the July 11, 2017 meeting. A motion was made by Kim Whitman and seconded by Debbie Mays. The motion carried.

III. Old Business

1. DCCECE Commissioner Report:

Tonya Williams provided a written report of the Arkansas Early Childhood Commission goals. Tonya Williams stated the division would continue to update the commission on the goals with a written report at each meeting.

2. DCCECE Staff Update:

Arlene Rose introduced Angela Ward from England, AR and recently served as the Dean of Discipline/Assistant Principal at Lisa Academy North for 4 years. Prior to that, she was a Kindergarten teacher at the school. She has worked as an owner/director and lead teacher of a child care center and has prior experience working in a Head Start Program. Angela holds a Master's degree in Educational Leadership from A-State, a Child Development Associate, and has a Bachelor of Science degree in Accounting.

Arlene Rose also introduced Jaesha Quarrels from Wynne, Arkansas and has a Master's degree in Early Childhood Services and a bachelor's degree in Interdisciplinary Studies with an emphasis in Criminology, Sociology, and Social Work from A-State. Jaesha has worked in a variety of fields including as a Division of Children and Family Services caseworker, served as a Head Start lead teacher and a director at a child care center. Most recently, Jaesha worked for a center serving the developmentally disabled and worked on contract as a Federal Head Start Reviewer.

3. BehaviorHelp Update:

Arlene Rose provided an update with statistics on the BehaviorHelp program (July 1, 2017-June 30, 2017). PowerPoint presentation was provided.

4. Better Beginnings Update:

Beverly Wright presented documents pertaining to Goal #4, which included maps of Arkansas showing the number of Better Beginnings facilities by level and by county. Beverly shared information pertaining to Goal 1, which provides the infant and toddler capacities by quality level and participation by license type.

Beverly provided an update on Better Beginnings data (January 1,2017 – September 29, 2017):

- 89 new providers in Better Beginnings
- 30 providers moved from level 1 to level 2
- 40 providers moved from level 2 to level 3
- 159 approvals overall (Include new providers and providers moving to a new level.)

5. Early Head Start/Child Care Partnership Grant Update:

Angela Ward presented an update on the Early Head Start/Child Care Partnership Grant. The DCCECE Early Head Start-Child Care Partnership Grant Model includes the use of Community Hubs. A document with community hub and child care partners was provided.

- University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (40 slots)
- Northcentral Arkansas Development Council, Inc. (20 slots)
- Community Services Office, Inc. (108 slots)

IV. New Business

1. <u>MIECHV and Safe Care Home Visiting Update</u>:

Dr. Kathy Pillow-Price presented information on the Arkansas Home Visiting Network (AHVN). AHVN is currently serving 6,555 families (at 95% capacity) and are operating in 73 of the 75 AR counties. Kathy Pillow-Price also provided information on Safe Care AR. Safe Care is for parents of children birth to age 5 that need help with creating a safe home environment, structure, and routines for their young children to keep them safely in their homes. A handout with information and data was provided.

2. Chair Selection:

Jody Veit-Edrington requested nominations for the chair selection. Debbie Mays and Dr. Kathy Pillow-Price were nominated. Kathy Pillow-Price was selected as the Arkansas Early Childhood Commission Chair effective January 1, 2018.

3. Nominating Committee:

Jody Veit-Edrington requested nomination for the Arkansas Early Childhood Commission nominating committee. Dr. Kathy Collins and Kim Whitman volunteered to be on the

nominating committee.

4. Finance Committee:

Jody Veit-Edrington requested nomination for the Arkansas Early Childhood Commission finance committee. Ryan Clayborn and Talicia Richardson volunteered to be on the finance committee.

V. Announcements

Tonya Williams congratulated Debbie Mays for being the president of the Arkansas Early Childhood Association.

VI. Adjournment

Jody Veit-Edrington asked for a motion to adjourn. Kim Whitman made a motion to adjourn. Talicia Richardson seconded the motion. The motion carried, and the meeting adjourned at 11:38 a.m.

VII. Next Meeting

The next meeting will be held Tuesday, January 16, 2018. The location is 700 Main Street, Conference Room A & B.